2012 Oregon Film Awards Announces Winners

Oregon (PRWEB) November 10, 2012

Heroica written by Scott Patterson receives the Grand Prize Award in the Feature Screenplay Competition. Jeremys World written by Carlos Perez receives the Grand Prize Award in the Short Screenplay Competition.

The jury prizes and top award winners of the 2012 Oregon Film Awards were announced Wednesday, November 7th, 2012. Top winners were selected in each of the main competitive categories along with the Special Jury Award, and winners in the four top tiers of recognition: Platinum, Gold, Silver and Bronze level achievements. The complete list of 2012 winners can be viewed on the events official website, http://www.oregonfilmawards.com

The 2012 Oregon Film Award Winners

The Grand Jury Award was awarded to Walk In directed by Scott Blum (USA).

Walk-In is a remarkable story of Don Newport, an engineer who comes face-to-face with his personal destiny under extraordinary circumstances. After losing his job and his health insurance, Don learns that he has a terminal disease, with only a few months left to live. On his deathbed, he meets Robert, a brazen angel who promises to help him with a graceful exit. As Don prepares to say his last goodbyes to his loving wife, Robert attempts to change Don’s perspective about his mortality and proposes to take over his diseased body in return for giving Don the body of a puppy.

The Special Jury Award was awarded to School Days Shoot directed by Kentaro Masamura (Japan). School Days Shoot is a film revolving around the theme of life high school soccer players. While the viewer reminisces on their high school days, they can enjoy a story of club activities and love. Based on the athlete’s way of thinking ‘I’ll shoot when I get the chance!’, we strove to support people who are living it tough.

Best Narrative Feature was awarded to Opal directed by Dina Ciraulo (USA). Inspired by true events, Opal is the captivating tale of self-taught naturalist and cult icon Opal Whiteley. Raised in a logging camp, Opal catapults to fame with the publication of her diary, then to infamy when readers suspect a hoax. What ensues is a literary mystery with contemporary overtones, where questions of identity are raised but never fully resolved. The film rides the tension between fact and fiction, and presents a character who embodies the possibilities of both.

Best Documentary Feature was awarded to Take a Bow directed by Lu Lesian (USA). Take a Bow is a film about the extraordinary life story of Ingrid Clarfield, a remarkable contemporary educator and inspirational figure. On March 29 2007, Ingrid was struck down by a devastating stroke that paralyzed the left side of her body. This should have been the end of her career. But it was not. The film depicts how Ingrid’s love of teaching, her passion for piano and her commitment to her students enable her to overcome seeming insurmountable obstacles.

Best Director was awarded to A Tale of Delight directed by Edd Blott (USA). Michael, suffering from post-traumatic stress disorder, fights the haunting memories of his wife’s tragic death. One day, his hope for healing is at risk when his family’s desire for a happy Christmas force Michael to hold his pain and guilt inside.

Best First-Time Director was awarded to Wintersmith directed by Anthony Tocchio (USA). In Wintersmith Village, Talia Abrams must struggle with her own self doubt to accept the help she needs to save her people from the tyrannical demon Fenris.

Best Actor was awarded to Shuffle directed by Garrett Bennett; Aron Michael Thompson, Actor (USA). A killer with a change of heart must play one last hand of poker with the mob boss that raised him within a criminal house of cards.

Best Actress was awarded to Dreams Awake directed by Jerry Alden Deal; Erin Gray, Actress (USA). While on vacation a disconnected family gets stranded near mystical Mt. Shasta and amazing possibilities open up. A family drama expands into a spiritual mystery, finally growing into a mystical adventure. As a glimpse into the subtle but intense possibilities of the human spirit, this story delves into that magical lore between reality and illusion, dreams and awake, and life, death and immortality.

Best Animation was awarded to Live Outside the Box directed by Shu-Hsuan Lin (Taiwan). The leading character Simon is a workaholic without any social contact. Gradually his world becomes smaller and smaller and even at the very end, there is nothing left in his world but only his work. This severe impact finally wakes him up and now Simon has to find the right way to bring his life back before everything is too late.

Best Narrative Short was awarded to Dinner Party directed by Jaqueline Gault (USA). When a group of college friends reunite for a dinner party after 10 years, all their secrets are revealed when Ed, the only single one of the bunch, decides to expose them for who they really are.

Best Documentary Short was awarded to God Has Arrived directed by John Urich-Sass (Mexico). This story is my personal experience of how I found God, or how God found me. It is a story that began when I first questioned myself about the origins of man, questions that took me to the mountains of Oaxaca, Mexico in search of answers. To my surprise, those answers lay hidden on the mountains of Rajastan, India. I not only found the origins of man, I found the origins of my own existence. I found the mind of God. There is no greater truth that I can leave behind to my son, than the truth God stamped in my heart.

Best Produced Feature Screenplay was awarded to Currency directed Brad Rosier (USA). Several lives are witnessed over the course of 80 years. Currency is a simple story about the complex questions we all ask. We all ask why. And we all die.

Best Produced Short Screenplay was awarded to Returning Home directed by Jason Honeycut (USA). A man wakes up in the middle of nowhere – a desolate road divides the baron landscape – all he knows is that he has to get home to his family. He soon discovers that ‘home’ might have an entirely different meaning.

Best Foreign Feature was awarded 40 Years of Silence: An Indonesian Tragedy directed by Robert Lemeison (USA). In one of the largest unknown mass-killings of the 20th century, an estimated 500,000 to 1,000,000 people were secretly and systematically killed in 1965 when General Suharto launched a bloody purge of suspected communists in Indonesia through a complex and highly contested series of events through which he ultimately gained power and the presidency. During Suharto’s authoritarian rule, any discussion or memorializing of the killings that differs from the official state narrative has been suppressed. ’40 Years of Silence: An Indonesian Tragedy’ follows the brave testimonies of four individuals and their families through a multi-generational perspective as they break the silence and reflect upon how the long-term, traumatic effects of the 1965 mass-killings has reverberated painfully in their lives till the present day.

Best Foreign Short was awarded to Half Good Killer directed by Brent Ryan Green (USA). A jaded child soldier fighting for an African rebel force struggles to survive the war he was thrust into as he reawakens to the life he was destined to lead.

Best Experimental Film was awarded to The Pipedreams Project directed by Ryan Vandecasteyen (Canada). Searching for effective ways to get involved in the decision-making process and oppose a $ 5.5 billion pipeline project that would introduce crude oil tankers to the North Coast of British-Columbia, three kayakers embark on an epic 2-month kayak expedition along the length of the BC coast.

Best Short Film was awarded to The Great Hamburger Challenge directed by Jason Chau (USA). These boys take fast food very seriously. So when Craig questions the prowess of Stanley’s palette, it’s anything but a gentleman’

Leave a Reply