CFPA Announces 2014 Defensive Back Trophy Watch List

Charleston, SC (PRWEB) June 30, 2014

College Football Performance Awards (CFPA) announces the 2014 CFPA Defensive Back Trophy Watch List. The initial watch list includes 42 defensive backs from the Football Bowl Subdivision. All players are eligible for awards at their respective positions; players are not preemptively eliminated from consideration.

Tennessee is one of six FBS programs with a nation-best two defensive backs on the list. Nine SEC defensive backs earned spots on the list.

Last season, Oklahoma State’s Justin Gilbert earned the 2013 CFPA Defensive Back Trophy. Gilbert, who is entering his rookie season with the Cleveland Browns, was the first defensive back selected in the 2014 NFL Draft.

Other CFPA winners at defensive back include: Deone Bucannon (Washington State), Phillip Thomas (Fresno State), David Amerson (North Carolina State), Mark Barron (Alabama), Jayron Hosley (Virginia Tech), and Earl Thomas (Texas).

2014 CFPA Defensive Back Trophy Watch List:

Landon Collins, Alabama

Tra’Mayne Bondurant, Arizona

Robenson Therezie, Auburn

Donte Deayon, Boise State

Cortney Lester, Buffalo

Jeremy Cash, Duke

DeVon Edwards, Duke

D’Joun Smith, FAU

Vernon Hargreaves, III, Florida

Nate Andrews, Florida State

P.J. Williams, Florida State

Derron Smith, Fresno State

Damian Swann, Georgia

Trevon Stewart, Houston

Isaiah Johnson, Kansas

Charles Gaines, Louisville

Bobby McCain, Memphis

Ladarius Gunter, Miami

Blake Countess, Michigan

Kurtis Drummond, Michigan State

Trae Waynes, Michigan State

Kevin Byard, Middle Tennessee

Jamerson Love, Mississippi State

Zack Sanchez, Oklahoma

Cody Prewitt, Ole Miss

Ifo Ekpre-Olomu, Oregon

Steven Nelson, Oregon State

Bryce Callahan, Rice

Jordan Richards, Stanford

Sam Carter, TCU

Brian Randolph, Tennessee

Cameron Sutton, Tennessee

Quandre Diggs, Texas

Deshazor Everett, Texas A&M

Lorenzo Doss, Tulane

Clayton Geathers, UCF

Su’a Cravens, USC

Josh Shaw, USC

Anthony Harris, Virginia

Brandon Facyson, Virginia Tech

Kendall Fuller, Virginia Tech

Cam Thomas, Western Kentucky

CFPA Announces 2014 FCS Wide Receiver Award Watch List:

CFPA also announces the 2014 CFPA FCS Wide Receiver Award Watch List. The initial watch list includes 38 wide receivers from the Football Championship Subdivision. Eastern Washington wide receiver Cooper Kupp returns for the 2014 season after earning the award in 2013.

2014 CFPA FCS Wide Receiver Award Watch List:

Dezmin Lewis, Central Arkansas

Tyrell Holmes, Central Connecticut

Lucas Shapiro, Cornell

William Morris, Davidson

Michael Johnson, Delaware

Milton Williams III, Delaware State

Adam Drake, Eastern Illinois

Keiondre Gober, Eastern Illinois

Cooper Kupp, Eastern Washington

Sam Ajala, Fordham

Tebucky Jones, Jr., Fordham

Brian Wetzel, Fordham

Kenny Cook, Gardner-Webb

Andrew Robustelli, Jacksonville

Reggie Begelton, Lamar

Mark Roberts, Lamar

Darrin Peterson, Liberty

Julian Burton, Missouri State

Neal Sterling, Monmouth

Ellis Henderson, Montana

Jamaal Jones, Montana

Zach Vraa, North Dakota State

Dimitri Stimphil, Northern Colorado

Kasey Closs, Portland State

Tobi Antigha, Presbyterian

Stephen Barnette, Richmond

DeAndre Carter, Sacramento State

Karel Hamilton, Samford

Reggie Bell, San Diego

Jason Schneider, South Dakota State

Willie Quinn, Southern University

Tyler Boyd, Stephen F. Austin

DJ Ward, Stephen F. Austin

Spencer Wilkins, Towson

R.J. Harris, New Hampshire

Karnorris Benson, Western Carolina

Tre McBride, William & Mary

Deon Randall, Yale

About College Football Performance Awards:

The goal of College Football Performance Awards is to provide the most scientifically rigorous conferments in college football. Recipients are selected exclusively based upon objective scientific rankings of the extent to which individual players increase the overall effectiveness of their teams. Twenty-eight CFPA winners have been first-round NFL Draft selections.

Leave a Reply