Teachers Federal Credit Union Awards Six $1,000 Scholarships

Hauppauge, NY (PRWEB) May 30, 2013

Teachers Federal Credit Union (TFCU), one of the countrys largest credit unions, has awarded six $ 1,000 education scholarships to Suffolk County high school graduating seniors as part of the credit unions ongoing efforts to provide support and encouragement to local students within the communities it serves.

The following students were awarded the scholarships during a recent ceremony held at TFCUs Hauppauge headquarters: Sara Buckley of Stony Brook, who plans to attend Manhattan College; Wesley Cox of Kings Park, who plans to attend the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT); Paris Hodges of Southampton, who plans to attend Brandeis University; Edania Martinez of Brentwood, who plans to attend The College at Old Westbury; Kaylyn Sadler of Rocky Point who plans to attend Suffolk Community College; and Lucas T. Strong of Holtsville, who plans to attend the University at Buffalo.

Our congratulations also go out to two of our young members who won scholarships through the Credit Union Association of New York. Katrina Clark of Otego and Hunter Holland of Smithtown each won $ 500 toward their continued educations. Katrina plans to attend Ithaca College and Hunter plans to attend the University of Southern California (USC) this fall.

Our TFCU scholarship winners are an impressive group of high school students, said Robert G. Allen, President/CEO of TFCU. We are proud to help these young men and women as they take the next step in reaching their career goals.

About TFCU:

Teachers Federal Credit Union (TFCU), one of the countrys largest credit unions, is a full-service, not-for-profit financial institution. TFCU was founded on Long Island in 1952 and now has over $ 4.7 billion in total assets, serves more than 227,000 members and has 24 full-service branches throughout Suffolk County including: Amityville, Bay Shore, Brookhaven National Laboratory, Central Islip, Commack, East Northport, Entenmanns, Farmingville, Hauppauge, Holbrook, Huntington, Nesconset, North Babylon, Oakdale, Port Jefferson Station, Riverhead, Rocky Point, Selden, Shirley, Smithtown, South Setauket, Stony Brook University (2), and Wading River. Members also have access to services at more than 5,000 shared service centers located across the country. TFCU offers financial services to all people and businesses located in Nassau and Suffolk counties (excluding the townships of Southampton, East Hampton and Shelter Island). More information is available about TFCU by visiting or by calling (631) 698-7000.

Leave a Reply