Winners of 2013 San Francisco Dance Community Awards Announced

San Francisco, CA (PRWEB) January 14, 2014

Bay Area Dance Watch and SAFEhouse, (Saving Art From Extinction) produced the second annual LiveBlessay benefit celebrating artistic and technical excellence in the San Francisco dance community at the ODC Theater last night. Thirty-five artists, leaders, supporters and services for the local dance community were given awards, and the event raised $ 12,000 for the development of new dance works by emerging and established artists throughout the Bay Area.

We are pleased to be able to shine a spotlight on these artists and our community, said Jim Tobin, founder of Bay Area Dance Watch, a site that shares essay portraits of local dancers, leaders, providers and supporters in addition to helping with fundraising.

Here are the award winners:

Best Contemporary Dancer — Jetta Martin

Best Contemporary Dancer — Heba Fayed

Best Dancer (Female Duet) — Ronja Ver

Best Dancer (Female Duet) — Bianca Cabrera

Best Dance/Theater Director — Erika Tsimbrovsky

Best Dancer/Actress — Angela Mazziotta

The Spirit of Dance Award — Megan Meyer

Best Contemporary Ballerina — Annabelle Henry (Annie)

Best Dance Soundtrack (SARA) — Nicole Bridgens Tallman

Best Community Outreach (Dance) — Kathy Mata Ballet

Choreographer of the Year — Anna Sullivan

Best Female Artistic Director (Contemporary Ballet) — Amy Seiwert

Most Innovative Dance Company — Blair Bodie

Most Innovative Dance Company — Julia Graham

Best Dance Leader — Jenni Bregman

Best Dance Photographer — Lynne Fried

Inspirational Dance Award — Pearl Marill

Outstanding Dance Supporter — Catherine Kirsch

Outstanding Dance Company Manager — Mica Pirie

Best Dance Mom — Catherine Macklin

Best Film Noir Dancer — Anna Greenburg

Lifetime Achievement Award (Dance) — Jo Krieter

Most Innovative Dancer — Ildiko Polony

Best Male Solo — Jesse Bie

Best Dancer/Actor — Colin Epstein

Best Customer Service Performing Arts — Brown Paper Tickets

Best Dance Soundtrack (SARA) – Jordan Isadore

Best Original Soundtrack (Dance) — Dan Wool

Best Male Artistic Director (Contemporary Ballet) — Robert Dekkers

Lifetime Achievement Award (Dance) — Gary Masters

Lifetime Achievement Award (Dance) — Fred Mathews

Outstanding US Veteran In Dance — David Reis Fish

Best Patron (Performing Arts) — Russell Nelson

Outstanding Theater Performance Piece — Aaron Jessup

Best Video Photographer John Parencia

For more information, including photos of the event and biographical information about each of the winners, go to

EDITOR’S NOTE: If youd like to interview any of the winners, contact Jim Tobin at jimtobin(at)yahoo(dot)com, or at 650-387-0535.

Leave a Reply